2010: We Begin Again

“Girls can wear jeans
And cut their hair short
Wear shirts and boots
‘Cause it’s OK to be a boy
But for a boy to look like a girl is degrading
‘Cause you think that being a girl is degrading
But secretly you’d love to know what it’s like
Wouldn’t you
What it feels like for a girl”

-Madonna

It is the season for change. Before the first puck drops, I want it all to be different. For the 2010 season I propose we make a shift. Erase the hurtful words and language that are constantly bandied about not just in hockey, but our lives outside of it. It is the time for us to evolve and lead by example. Criticizing a game doesn’t need to involve calling a player a fag or saying someone fights like a girl. It is insulting to women and the gay community.

The loss of Brendan Burke was tragic but it brought the issue into a spotlight, and we shouldn’t forget it. The NHL has commercials that run often, proclaiming “Hockey is for everyone.” And it is, and no one should have to feel like they aren’t welcome to the huge, family of a sport because of people running their mouths.

I know I’m loud and have on-going issues with pink and sparkly jerseys. I just want to be seen as a normal fan. I’m 5’2″ with a rack, of course a normal men’s jersey isn’t going to fit right. The crest pops up in the front and the number scrunches in the back but I still proudly wear it because I love my team. I don’t want to be thrown into some gender pile where I’m supposed to like pink because I’m a woman.

Madonna has long been an ally not only to empowering women but the gay community as well. Really, she set the precedent for her successors to be angels of tolerance: the Spice Girls, Britney Spears, Beyonce and now Our Lady Gaga. Their messages, dancey and fluffy pop singles aside, has been of love, strength and kindness. Life is messy, there will be heartbreak but value your self and your independence and care for others. We’re all going to be ok if we can try to understand each other.

Ripples become waves and I propose we look at ourselves and kindly guide others when it comes to what we say and what attitudes we have.

Are you in or are you out? Sign below.

22 thoughts on “2010: We Begin Again

  1. I’m definitely in. Hockey is something that I’ve loved for a very long time, and I just want everyone to respect each other.

    I love what you do, Wrap. Just keep doing what you’re doing.

    And I hope it’s cool if I blog a link to your piece. This is a message that needs to get out there.

  2. Awesome post. I know I sometimes foul this stuff up by making gender related comments (really dumb of me considering I am a chick). But there are so many other choice words to use, just watch out for kiddos if you can haha.

    BIGGEST PET PEEVE:
    “The crest pops up in the front and the number scrunches in the back”
    Can they not open it up a little bit in the chest and hips?! Because it’s either get this pop/scrunch fiasco that also ends up giving you an extra boob-pocket when you sit down or go up a few sizes and end up in a dress with Kimono sleeves you could wrangle a calf with. But bitching aside, I worship all of my jerseys.

    • Its ok, I say things I should either. I’m not perfect. At my best I’m a mildly hypocritcal feminist. But I’m going to try and be better. Including cutting back my shit talking of puck bunnies. Kill ‘em with kindness….

Comments are closed.